Sign In

Protected Areas

Protected Areas

Protected Area System

In 1991, the Kingdom assisted in conducting the necessary biological and social studies and studies to prepare the system of protected areas with the experience of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN). One of the protected areas to date in the Kingdom. The system, which has been recently updated according to environmental developments, includes the proposal to protect 75 areas (including 62 land areas, 13 coastal and marine areas).


It is planned that the Authority will manage 35 protected areas (15 existing ones, 20 proposals); 40 areas (existing and proposed) will be managed by other bodies, including the National Parks of the Ministry of Agriculture in Riyadh, Asir, Taif, etc. and the areas of the Ministry of Municipal and Rural Affairs, the UAE and the Royal Commission. Jubail, Yanbu and others. The total area of ​​the proposed system is estimated at 10.42% of the area of ​​the Kingdom devoted to the development of renewable natural resources in those areas for the benefit of man.       Existing protected areas include 15 protected areas (12 terrestrial and three marine reserves) to protect a range of integrated natural ecosystems: free, free, kafiq, tawabik, wawal, fisheries, Jurf Raidah, Farasan Islands, and brown veins. Exhibitions, Upper Shada Mountain, Umm Al Qamari Island, Hadh and Jubail Marine Biology Complexes, along with three areas that are considered as sanctuaries for the rehabilitation of the Houbara are: Altisiyeh, Nafud Al Areeq, Saja and Umm Rumth. These protected areas are operated by an administrative and technical body comprising a scientific director of each reserve and head of the Roving Team, which performs ground surveillance to monitor wildlife in the reserve and prevent violations and abuses and is assisted by the air control team.

Protected areas under the management of the Saudi Wildlife Authority until 1434​

# Protected Year of announcement Area (km 2)